Google Advertising. An introduction to using Google adverts. Award winners. Maria Ketteringham, Strategy & Planning Manager Broker Consultancy, Aviva

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1 Thursday 7 February 2019 Webinar will begin at 2:30pm Google Advertising An introduction to using Google adverts Maria Ketteringham, Strategy & Planning Manager Broker Consultancy, Aviva Justin Deaville Managing Director, Receptional Award winners Matthew Loughlin Head of Paid Search, Receptional

2 TODAY S AGENDA COULD WE WILL LEVERAGE COVER TARGETED ONLINE VIDEO ADVERTISING (PRIMARILY THROUGH What are Google YOUTUBE) Ads? TO INCREASE BRAND AWARENESS AND MEMBERSHIP How ads are targeted SIGNUPS, WITHIN TARGETED LOCATIONS, How Google decide OVER which A ONE-MONTH ads to display PERIOD. Creating great ad copy Controlling budgets Measuring performance 2 Aviva: Public

3 POLL 1 - WHAT IS YOUR LEVEL OF EXPERIENCE WITH GOOGLE ADS? 1. I have a campaign live now. 2. I have run campaigns in the past. 3. I have never advertised with Google. 3

4 WHAT ARE GOOGLE ADS? Ad Paid Ads Organic result No.1 4

5 SIX BENEFITS OF GOOGLE ADS 1. Instant can get ads up and running in a matter of hours. 2. Reach - reach high intent users i.e. those actively searching for your services. 3. Flexibility can tailor ad messaging, as needed. 4. Cost-effective - only pay for actual ad clicks. 5. Control - easily control costs, by setting daily budget limits. 6. Measurable - can simply measure returns i.e. those that convert. 5

6 WHY ARE THEY IMPORTANT? Page fold on desktop 6

7 WHY ARE THEY IMPORTANT? Mobile devices typically account for 55%+ of all site traffic 7

8 HOW ARE ADS TARGETED? Search queries are primarily matched to keywords, selected by advertisers, to target their ads. You can also target users based: Device Age Gender Household income Location Day of week Hour of day 8

9 FINDING THE RIGHT KEYWORDS Using Google Keyword Planner, via Google Ads Searches per month, in the selected locations. Data by month, over the past 12 months. Low, medium or high, only. i.e. positions 3 and 4 in Google results i.e. positions 1 and 2 in Google results 9

10 Recommended: 1-3 KEYWORD TARGETING You can choose how you want to match to different search queries

11 NEGATIVE KEYWORDS Stop your ads displaying for certain search queries. e.g. complaints. This comes at no additional cost. Common negative keyword examples: Locations not served Careers/jobs Complaints Login/sign in 11

12 HOW DO GOOGLE DECIDE WHICH ADS DISPLAY? Ads display on an auction basis, and are determined by your ad rank. This is comprised of three factors AD RANK = 1. CPC BID x 2.QUALITY SCORE x 3. AD EXTENSIONS Since Google Ads includes quality factors, bids and ad position are not always linear. In essence, you don t simply need to bid the most! 12

13 HOW DO GOOGLE DECIDE WHICH ADS DISPLAY? 3/click 5/click 4/click NB the above data is for illustration purposes only 13

14 HOW DO GOOGLE DECIDE WHICH ADS DISPLAY? Keyword Quality Score Each keyword you choose to target is given a quality score of between 1 and 10. This directly influences the cost you pay per click. Keyword Avg. cost Exp. CTR Ad relevance Landing page exp. Quality Score car insurance broker car insurance broker 0.72 Above average Average Above average 9/ Average Average Average 7/10 A higher quality score = a lower required bid! 14

15 MAXIMISING QUALITY SCORES To maximise Quality Scores, you need to do three things: 1. Get the highest possible ad click-through rates (CTRs) 2. Maximise ad relevance 3. Offer a good landing page experience Keyword Avg. cost Exp. CTR Ad relevance Landing page exp. Quality Score car insurance broker 1.00 Average Average Average 7/10 15

16 CREATING GREAT AD COPY Great ads stand out from the crowd... Stronger ad relevance, higher CTR & better landing page experience = quality score: 9/10 cost per click = 1.00 Versus Weaker ad relevance, lower CTR and poor landing page experience = quality score of 2/10, cost per click = 3.00 NB the above data is for illustration purposes only 16

17 CREATING GREAT AD COPY Google reward advertisers with lower costs when they use ad extensions, AND you get higher click-through rates (CTRs). What are ad extensions? NB - A click on any of these is charged in the same way as a standard ad click; there s no extra cost. 17

18 AD COPY BEST PRACTICES Reflect user search terms in ad copy maximise relevancy. Promote USPs e.g. average savings, discounts, speed of quotes, etc. Pricing & promotions if price competitive and if any promotions are available. Maximise the character length available and use a call-to-action. Use first-letter capitalisation. Add all relevant ad extensions to ads (coming slides). 18

19 POLL 2 - WHEN SEARCHING ON GOOGLE, HOW OFTEN DO YOU CLICK ON ADS THAT RELATE TO YOUR SEARCH? 1. Always/often 2. Occasionally 3. Never 4. Unsure 19

20 AD EXTENSIONS Sitelink extensions 20

21 AD EXTENSIONS Callout Extensions Structured Snippet Extensions 21

22 AD EXTENSIONS Seller Rating Extensions From approved review sites 22

23 AD EXTENSIONS Call Extensions On mobile devices: 23

24 AD EXTENSIONS Price extensions 24

25 AD EXTENSIONS Recommendation Use all available ad extensions to create prominent, relevant ads. Recap - these will not cost you any extra to use. On the contrary, you are rewarded for using them, and penalised if you don t. 25

26 SETTING & CONTROLLING BUDGETS Campaign daily budgets per campaign or group of campaigns. Campaign Budget Status Car Insurance Brokers (Local) 5.50/day Eligible Car Insurance Brokers (National) 5.50/day Limited by budget Cheap Car Insurance Brokers (Local) 3.75/day Limited by budget Cheap Car Insurance Brokers (National) 3.75/day Limited by budget NB the above data is for illustration purposes only 26

27 SETTING & CONTROLLING BUDGETS Google will make recommendations to increase exposure, and include a ceiling. NB the above data is for illustration purposes only 27

28 SETTING & CONTROLLING BUDGETS Budget delivery (flight) can be fully controlled, in order to spend evenly, or ASAP, regardless of budget. 28

29 SETTING & CONTROLLING BUDGETS You can use automated rules to make changes based on budget / spend. Why? E.g. to increase/decrease spend for the weekend, or for a promotional campaign. 29

30 POLL 3 FROM WHAT S BEEN COVERED SO FAR ABOUT GOOGLE ADS, HOW COMPLEX ARE THINGS COMPARED WITH YOUR EXPECTATIONS? 1. More complex 2. Less complex 3. As expected 30

31 AUDIENCE TARGETING You can also target based on uploaded data about your customers (e.g. addresses). 31

32 AUDIENCE TARGETING In addition to keyword targeting, you can also target based on: Remarketing audiences i.e. previous website visitors. Visitor Your site Visitor leaves Your ad on other sites Visitor returns 32

33 AUDIENCE TARGETING In-market audiences Google groups users based on past search and browsing history, to identify those in the market for your services. In-Market Insurance Categories /Financial Services/Insurance /Financial Services/Insurance/Auto Insurance /Financial Services/Insurance/Health Insurance /Financial Services/Insurance/Home Insurance /Financial Services/Insurance/Life Insurance /Financial Services/Insurance/Travel Insurance /Financial Services/Investment Services /Financial Services/Tax Services 33

34 TRACKING & REPORTING Link your Google Ads account to a Google Analytics account. 34

35 TRACKING & REPORTING You want full visibility and insight. Conversion examples to track *use an expert to configure this!* Top priority conversion examples: Form submissions Phone calls from ads, from your site, etc. Quotes Lower priority conversion examples: PDF downloads Video views 35

36 CALCULATING & FORECASTING ROI Google will provide a cost per acquisition (CPA) figure, based on the conversions you choose to track. Cost / Conversions = Cost Per Acquisition (CPA) Starting point for many advertisers - what is an acceptable cost per lead / enquiry? 36

37 WILL PPC WORK FOR ME? Forecasting ROI - an example Forecast Data Insurance broker near me Monthly Google Searches 2,000 Forecast Click-Through Rate 3.50% Forecast Clicks 70 Suggested Cost Per Click 1.50 Forecast Cost Forecast CVR 3.00% Forecast Conversions 2.1 Cost Per Conversion In addition to lots of brand exposure impressions are free. NB the above data is for illustration purposes only 37

38 CHOOSING & MANAGING A PPC AGENCY Our top five tips for selecting an agency: 1. Ask for case studies and references from any agency. 2. Award wins work has been peer reviewed. 3. Sector experience can be beneficial, but not essential. 4. Ask who ll manage the account, and what experience they have. 5. Flexibility - agencies should exist to make your life easier e.g. bespoke reporting. 38

39 NEED SOME HELP WITH GOOGLE ADS? 1. New Google Ads users: We can help you to research the viability of PPC activity for your business. 2. Existing Google Ads users: If you re already running PPC activity, we can provide a free audit of that activity. 39

40 POLL 4 -WHAT CONTENT WOULD YOU LIKE TO COVER NEXT? 1. How to reach my audience with LinkedIn advertising. 2. More on Google Ads. 3. Best practice copywriting for the web. 40

41 M a t t h e w L o u g h l i n mloughlin@receptional.com THANK YOU Aviva: Public 41