Online Advertising. Ayça Turhan Hacettepe University Department Of Business Administration

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1 Online Advertising Ayça Turhan Hacettepe University Department Of Business Administration

2 Online Advertising In simple terms, it is advertising on the internet. It can be anywhere on internet and can consist of images, text, videos, interactive elements, games, etc. Some examples: Display Ads on websites Ads on Search Engines Ads on Social Networks

3 Online Advertising The main objectives of online advertising are: to increase sales improve brand awareness raise share of voice in the marketplace

4 Online Advertising Source:

5

6 Online Advertising The biggest strenght of online advertising is the fact that everything is measurable. The Internet will transform advertising because of its trackability, not its beauty. -Eric Schmidt, Former CEO of Google

7 Track All Interactions Number of impressions Number of unique users reached Number of clicks Post-click and view data Much more...

8 Strenghts of Online Advertising In addition to tracking: Possibility of instant sales and conversion The power of targeting Geotargeting Site specific targeting Behavioral targeting Demographic targeting Retargeting

9 Different Types of Online Advertising Search Advertising Display Advertising Video Advertising Social Media Advertising

10 Search Advertising

11 PAID PAID ORGANIC

12 Display Advertising

13 Banners

14 Banners Some standart ad sizes: 300x x x90 300x600 etc. 90px 728px

15 Rich Media Banners

16 Rich Media Banners

17 Video Advertising

18 Pre-Roll/Mid-Roll/Post-Roll

19 Video Rich Media Extended Preroll

20 Extended Preroll with Social Integration

21 Content Branding

22 Multi Screen

23 Social Media Advertising

24 Facebook Advertising

25 Facebook Advertising

26 Facebook Advertising For Details Go To:

27 Facebook Advertising

28 Twitter Advertising

29 Twitter Advertising

30 Twitter Advertising

31 Linkedin Ads

32 Linkedin Ads

33 Linkedin Ads

34 Key Terms Clickthrough Rate (CTR): Clicks/Impressions % Conversion: A visitor completing a target action.

35 Key Terms Explained CTR: 5.473/ = 5.47% Conversion Rate: 675/5.473 = 12.33% Ad gets impressions and clicks. Total number of orders as a result of the ad is 675.

36 Payment Models for Digital Ads CPM: (Cost per mille - Cost per thousand impressions) Payment when ad is seen. The advertiser pays for every thousand times the advert loads on the publisher s page. CPC: Cost-per-Click Payment when ad is clicked. The advertiser pays only when their ad is clicked on.

37 CPM vs. CPC Assume that: CPM price is $3.00 CPC price is $0.05 Two possibilities: If we are paying in CPM; $3.00x100= $300 If we are paying in CPC; $0.05x5.473=$ Ad gets impressions and clicks.

38 Payment Models for Digital Ads CPA: (Cost-per-action) Payment when action is taken. The advertiser pays only when a desired action is achieved. Usually, CPM favours the publisher, while CPA favours the advertiser.

39 CPM vs. CPC vs. CPA Assume that: CPM price is $3.00 CPC price is $0.05 CPA price is $1.00 Three possibilities: If we are paying in CPM; $3.00x100= $ If we are paying in CPC; $0.05x5.473=$ If we are paying in CPA; $1.00x675=$ Ad gets impressions and clicks. Total number of orders as a result of the ad is 675.

40 Key Terms Key performance indicator (KPI): A metric that shows whether an objective is being achieved. Return on investment(roi): The ratio of profit to cost.

41 An Example We are a company which is selling motorcycles on our website. We are running an online ad campaign. Our KPI is number of orders.

42 An Example Our ad was shown times Our ad received 525 clicks CTR 5.25% Impressions Clicks 525

43 An Example Our site received 500 sessions as a result of ad clicks 5 session resulted in sales Conversion Rate 1% Sessions 500 Conversions 5

44 An Example CPC = $0.50 Sales Price of Motorcycle = $1.000 # Clicks = 525 # Sales = 5 ROI 1805% Cost Revenue 5000

45 Landing Page Optimization The primary goal of display advertising is to drive clicks back to your landing page or website so you can deliver your key brand messages and convert visitors to take specified actions leading towards a purchase. Source: WSI ( ). Digital Minds: 12 Things Every Business Needs to Know About Digital Marketing (p. 80). FriesenPress. Kindle Edition.

46 Landing Page Optimization A landing page is the page that greets your users, the first page the user sees on your site. Landing pages can be specific to a campaign being run. You can consider testing: Headline Images Calls-to-action Text Social Proof Etc.

47 Another Example

48 Site A Site B

49 Using URL Builder The URL builder helps you add parameters to URLs you use in custom web-based or ad campaigns. A custom campaign is any ad campaign not using the AdWords auto-tagging feature. When users click one of the custom links, the unique parameters are sent to your Google Analytics account, so you can identify the URLs that are most effective in attracting users to your content. Go to: 867?hl=en

50 Using URL Builder Instead of: We must use: 2 different URLs for Site A: different URLs for Site B:

51 Site A Site B

52 Sales price of car is $100.

53 Retargeting/Remarketing People who have already shown interest in your product or service are more valuable. In remarketing, when someone visits your site, a tracking cookie is placed in their browser. As they visit other sited supported by specific chosen advertising partners, your ad is shown to them.

54 Retargeting/Remarketing People who have already shown interest in your product or service are more valuable. In remarketing, when someone visits your site, a tracking cookie is placed in their browser. As they visit other sited supported by specific chosen advertising partners, your ad is shown to them.

55 Getting Your Ads Online

56 Programmatic Advertising Programmatic advertising helps automate the decision-making process of media buying by targeting specific audiences and demographics. Programmatic ads are placed using artificial intelligence (AI) and real-time bidding (RTB) for online display, social media advertising, mobile and video campaigns, and is expanding to traditional TV advertising marketplaces. Source:

57 Step-By-Step Guide Determine the Goal of your campaign Identify your key performance indicators (KPIs). Investigate your target audience. Research potential websites to host your adverts. Set a budget. Create your adverts. Choose or create a landing page. Run your adverts. Track, measure, optimise.

58 Search Advertising Ayça Turhan Hacettepe University Department Of Business Administration

59 Search Advertising Search advertising, also called pay-per-click (PPC) advertising, is a way to advertise your business or product directly on search engine results pages, where the advertiser pays only for each click on their advert.

60

61 Extensions ?hl=en

62

63 Search Engine Advertising People who are searching for something usually have a specific intent they are looking for information, guidance, comparisons, tools, or solutions to their problems. It s important to understand why somebody would look for your brand or product and what keywords they would use to find it when crafting your search ads. Look at the considerations for choosing keywords that are covered in the Search Engine Optimisation chapter these often overlap.

64 Gooogle Adwords Google s online advertising platform is Google Adwords. ( With Google AdWords, you can reach people as they search for words or phrases (which we call keywords) or browse websites with themes related to your business. Your ad can appear on Google and its partner websites. With cost-per-click (CPC) bidding, you're charged only when someone clicks your ad.

65

66 Keyword Targeting Targeting Options

67 Targeting Options Location and Language Targeting Example: If you run a dog daycare center in San Francisco, California, you could add the keyword "doggie daycare," and "San Francisco and nearby cities," as the target location for your AdWords campaign. Then, when people in San Francisco type "doggie daycare" on Google, they could see your ad next to the search results ?hl=en

68 Targeting Options Device Targeting Show your ads to the right people across all devices, based on their specific location, time of day, and device type. Audience targeting Show your ads to people who have previously visited your site by using remarketing lists for search ads(rlsa) ?hl=en

69 Remarketing Lists What is Remarketing? A feature that lets you reach people who have previously visited your website. Your ads can show to these customers when they visit other websites in the Google Display Network or when they search on Google using your keywords

70

71

72 The Long Tail

73 The Long Tail Moz (a well known SEO blog) claims that 70% of searches on the web are unique. Discovering those low volume niche search terms can generate amazing results in SEM. Long tail keywords are generally cheaper and lead to higher rates of conversion.

74

75 How does Adwords Work? Adwords is an auction. Adrank: A value that's used to determine your ad position (where ads are shown on a page) and whether your ads will show at all. Ad Rank is calculated using: Your bid amount The components of Quality Score (expected clickthrough rate, ad relevance, and landing page experience) The expected impact of extensions and other ad formats Source:

76 How does Adwords Work? Even if your competition has higher bids than yours, you can still win a higher position at a lower price by using highly relevant keywords, ads, and extensions.

77 Structure of Ads

78 Structure of Ads Account: Our Cool Shoe Company Account Campaign: Summer Sale Ad Group 1: Sneakers Ad Group 2: High Heel Shoes Ad Group 3: Kids Shoes

79 The Elements of an Ad

80 The Elements of an Ad Headline: maximum of 25 characters Ad Text Line 1: maximum of 35 characters Ad Text Line 2: maximum of 35 characters Display URL: maximum of 35 characters

81 Search Advertising

82 Testing Just like everything else in digital marketing, testing is vital in search engine marketing. Ex: Testing various calls-to-actions: Summer sale on sneakers. Buy now! Summer sale on sneakers. Choose yours now! Summer sale on sneakers. Claim your offer now!

83 Testing

84 The Importance of Landing Page If you are targeting for keyword «buy canon eos 450d», the target url must be the page that the customer can buy that camera right away. It shouldn t be your homepage. It shouldn t be the category page of cameras.

85 Conversion and CTR

86 Conversion and CTR

87 Conversion Tracking

88 Planning and Setting Up a Search Campaign Market research & Analysis Define your goals Budget, cost per action (CPA) and targets Keyword Research Write the Adverts Place your bids Tracking Measure, analyse, test, optimise!

89 Contact Me Course Page:

90 Sources emarketing: The Essential Guide To Marketing In a Digital World 5 Ed.» by Rob Stokes and and Minds of Quirk which is available at:

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