DIGITAL MARKETING 101. TERRY RICE Brooklyn Digital Marketing
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1 DIGITAL MARKETING 101 TERRY RICE Brooklyn Digital Marketing
2 MEET YOUR INSTRUCTOR TERRY RICE Digital Marketing Instructor at General Assembly Corporate Trainer & Consultant at Brooklyn Digital Marketing Previously, Client Solutions Manager at Facebook, Search Engine Marketing Consultant at Adobe Facebook Certified Advertising Professional
3 ABOUT GENERAL ASSEMBLY
4 GA CAMPUS LOCATIONS
5 DIGITAL MARKETING 101 LEARNING OBJECTIVES Explain the current Digital Marketing landscape, including careers as well as the opportunities to learn more about the topic area. Introduce the Objective-First Framework as a framework for approaching marketing campaigns. Break down the components of digital marketing campaign strategy for a known company. Practice identifying key performance indicators (KPIs) for a company.
6 DIGITAL MARKETING 101 BEFORE WE DIVE IN Take a moment to post the following in the chat window: Where you re from What you re hoping to learn today
7 DIGITAL MARKETING 101 DIGITAL MARKETING LANDSCAPE
8 DIGITAL MARKETING LANDSCAPE STOP & JOT What two words or phrases do you think describe the current digital marketing landscape? Please enter your response via the chat window.
9 DIGITAL MARKETING LANDSCAPE
10 DIGITAL MARKETING LANDSCAPE Because of this fast-paced change and growth, digital marketers must wear many hats as part Digital Marketer User Experience Designer Product Manager Data Scientist The list goes on
11 DIGITAL MARKETING LANDSCAPE What skills are in demand? Source: GA s Blurring Lines Hybrid Jobs Report
12 DIGITAL MARKETING LANDSCAPE What skills are growing the fastest? Source: GA s Blurring Lines Hybrid Jobs Report
13 WHAT IS DIGITAL MARKETING?
14 14 Digital Marketing is an umbrella term for the targeted, measurable, and interactive marketing of products, services, or brands using digital technologies to reach and convert leads into customers and retain them.
15 TRADITIONAL MARKETING VS. DIGITAL MARKETING 15 Great billboard, but how many sales did it generate? Did I get my money s worth?
16 TRADITIONAL MARKETING VS. DIGITAL MARKETING 16 WITH DIGITAL MARKETING, THIS IS NO LONGER TRUE.
17 TRADITIONAL MARKETING VS. DIGITAL MARKETING 17 Ok, not as clever, but I ll know: Revenue generated Return on investment Age, gender, location Channel (Facebook, , Search) Device (ipad, Android, Computer) Day of week, and time of day Real time or near real time reporting
18 DIGITAL MARKETING OBJECTIVE-FIRST FRAMEWORK
19 LEVIS 541 ATHLETIC FIT
20 DEFINE YOUR OBJECTIVE Objective: Our goal this quarter is to sell 50,000 pairs of the new Levi s Athletic Fit style in order to increase revenue and determine product demand.
21 THE OBJECTIVE-FIRST FRAMEWORK SET A SMART OBJECTIVE SPECIFIC MEASUREABLE ATTAINABLE RELEVANT TIME BOUND
22 DEFINE KPI S Key Performance Indicators These are metrics, such as sales or revenue, that let you immediately know how you re tracking towards your goals. You should also know what actions you can take to influence these metrics.
23 DEFINE KPI S Levis: Click through rate Cost per click Conversion rate Cost per Acquisition
24 DEFINE KPI S Levis: Click through rate = Clicks/Impressions Cost per click = Cost/Clicks Conversion rate = Conversions/Page Visits Cost per Acquisition = Cost/Acquistions
25 KPI TARGETS Our goal this quarter is to sell 50,000 pairs of the new Levi s Athletic Fit style. Ad Budget: $500,000 Cost per Acquisition = Ad Cost/Acquisitions(orders) Target Cost per Acquisition =? $500,000/50,000= $10 We need targets to quantify efficient performance. If the Cost per Acquisition is over $10, we d exhaust our budget before hitting our sales volume goal.
26 DEFINE KPIs In looking at our KPIs, how could we get the CPA even lower? Click through rate Cost per click Conversion rate
27 DESIGN TACTICS
28 EXECUTE CAMPAIGN Platforms Facebook, Instagram, Audience Network Duration How long are campaigns and/or ads running? Retargeting? Management Agency, Internal Third party tools
29 MEASURE OUTCOMES It is vital that you track your campaigns and analyze the data to find where opportunities are. There are several ways to do so, and it s useful to use more than one source in order to validate your data.
30 MEASURE OUTCOMES Examples: 63,000 units sold Cost per Acquisition: $7 Conversion Rate: 2.2% Click Through Rate: 2.5% Cost Per Click: $.55
31 OPTIMIZE RESULTS Once you have analyzed your data, refine or stop your campaigns based on your KPIs. Segment your data to determine what yields the best results. For example: Age/Gender Device Ad Copy Videos/Images
32 THE OBJECTIVE 1ST FRAMEWORK.... AND THEN! DIGITAL MARKETER Your Name Here
33 AMAZON ECHO
34 DEFINE YOUR OBJECTIVE Objective: Increase user generated content on Facebook page by 20% quarter over quarter in order to increase product adoption and awareness.
35 DEFINE YOUR OBJECTIVE In order to properly manage expectations, you ll want to set S.M.A.R.T. goals Specific Measurable Attainable Relevant Time-bound Example: Increase user generate posts by 20% quarter over quarter
36 DEFINE KEY PERFORMANCE INDICATORS (KPIs) User Comments/Day User Comments/Post Shares Reactions
37 DESIGN TACTICS Fun Fact: Asking a question is one of the best ways to get user generated content.
38
39 MEASURE OUTCOMES
40 OPTIMIZE RESULTS Once you have analyzed your data, refine or stop your campaigns/strategies based on your KPIs. Segment your data in order to determine what yields the best results. For example: Content Creative Device Fun Fact: 80% of Social Media time is spent on mobile. Not so Fun Fact: 40% of visitors expect your site to load within 3 seconds.
41 THE OBJECTIVE-FIRST FRAMEWORK SET AN OBJECTIVE
42 CURRENT BUSINESS SITUATION #DeleteUber
43 AND THINGS WERE GOING SO WELL...
44
45 THE OBJECTIVE-FIRST FRAMEWORK
46 DIGITAL MARKETING 101 TACTICS
47
48
49 FACEBOOK CAROUSEL AD
50 DIGITAL MARKETING 101 ACTIVITY: SETTING OBJECTIVES
51 ACTIVITY: SETTING OBJECTIVES 1 EXERCIS E DIRECTIONS (25 MINS) 1. Step 1: (5 Min) Research the company and determine how they make money (their business model) as well as a description of the customer (the more specific the better!) 2. Step 2: (5 Min) As a group, an objective using the MadLib. 3. Step 3: (5 Min) Come up with a tactic to achieve the objective. 4. Step 4: (10 Min) Share out & discuss, 2 mins for each of the 5 groups DELIVERABLE A marketing objective and tactic for your project company
52 DIGITAL MARKETING 101 DEMO: KPIS
53 DEMO: KPIS
54 DEMO: KPIS DEFINE KPIS KPIs metrics ARE ALL METRICS KPIS? ARE ALL KPIS METRICS?
55 WHAT HAPPENS IF WE DON T USE KPIS?
56 DEMO: KPIS WHEN WE DON T HAVE KPIS
57 DIGITAL MARKETING 101 CONCLUSION
58 DEMO: KPIS
59 DIGITAL MARKETING 101 WHAT WE LEARNED TODAY Explain the current Digital Marketing landscape, including careers as well as the opportunities to learn more about the topic area. Introduce the Objective-First Framework as a framework for approaching marketing campaigns. Break down the components of digital marketing campaign strategy for a known company. Practice identifying key performance indicators (KPIs) for a company.
60 DIGITAL MARKETING 101 WHAT S NEXT?
61 DIGITAL MARKETING 101 WHAT S NEXT? Get inspired by student projects in GA Gallery! Still want more?! Go, you! Intro to Digital Marketing Class Digital Marketing Part-Time Course Digital Marketing Online Circuit Course
62 DIGITAL MARKETING 101 Q&A
63 THANK YOU!
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